Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Alpine Star- Is it worth it?

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by BiX, Mar 23, 2006.

1. Well having only been riding since december, i am pretty new to the whole motorbike thing. When i got my first bike, i also got some new gear. After about 4 months i am working out what features i want and don't want etc (eg zippered cuffs, as i have xvent 2 jacket with velcro cuffs) I bought some alpine star smx3 gloves ( I know A* are good in terms of driving (car) gear), but after 4 months they are starting to die, and as its coming into winter i am looking at getting some new gear mainly gloves and a leather jacket ( as i am happy with my gearne boots and dragins, and helmet).

My question is- is A* really worth the money? if my gloves died after 4 months, are their jackets going to do the same? or is it all just marketing hype with A*, or just i should have got sp2 gloves ( i like the mx style gloves for better feel) ?

2. no, they're not worth it.

better gear to be had for that money

I know of a few pairs of gloves that have fallen apart
  3. Tanya have you moved from yamaha? might have to come down and look at some new gear.
  4. I'm only a new rider myself and was looking around for what gear to get. On the positive feedback that various members on the board gave about RM Gear (www.rmgear.com.au) I checked them out.

Just received my leather jacket and gloves that I ordered this morning. The Dyno jacket on their website (which is what I got) is almost identical to the Alpinestar Dyno jacket (in terms of looks, feel, removable liner, zippered vents and armour).