Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

All new Vic Learners your help is needed.

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Jem, Mar 7, 2012.

1. Hi all new Vic riders,

If you are like me you have been reading this site for a while before you got your licence and bike and now that you are on the road you have realised how much you have to learn.

The more experienced members on here have been doing some great work of late in raising our profile as a group using the roads including the involvement of Maurice Blackburn in a concerted stop SMIDSY campaign,

Some threads to have a look at if you have not already -

I feel we should be doing all we can to support them and their efforts for us as a group. But what can I do I am only new to this I here you say.

Well there is one simple thing you can do and that is send an email to The Minister - The Hon Terrance Mulder and outline your concerns as a road user for not only your own but other road users safety.

The only thing I would ask is you keep it polite, use the correct titles for the people you are including in the email and concentrate on the fact that you want the roads to be a safer place for all. Some of the above threads have example letters in them so you can see what sort of thing I mean. It is also important to put your name, address and contact number this adds credibility to your email.

Here is a list of politicians that I think it is worth sending your email to -
    Ted Baillieu - Premier
    Peter Ryan Deputy - Premier and Police Minister
    Robert Clark - Attorney General
    Terry Mulder - Roads and Public transport Minister
    Daniel Andrews - Leader of the opposition
    James Merlino - Deputy Leader of the opposition
    Martin Pakula - Shadow Attorney General