Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ah the choices

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by mlc05, Apr 25, 2011.

Which bike of these?

Poll closed May 16, 2011.
  1. Honda VTR250

2. Honda CB400

3. Honda VT400

4. Suzuki GS500

5. Suzuki GS500F

6. Suzuki M50 800

7. Honda VT750S

8. Sachs Xroad 250

1. Hi all, I am new to motorcycling and this forum. Last year I started with a moped then graduated to a 125 scooter. I did not think it would go much further particularly as wifey called motorcycles death machines a year ago.

However the bug has bitten and wifey has softened and in 2 months I can graduate from an RE (a) license to a manual R license. The long term plan is that I want to be a motorcycle instructor so I need my R class asap to get minimium 3 yrs riding experience. With that in mind my shortlist for upgrading is the following:
    Honda VTR 250; Honda VT 400; Suzuki GS500; Suzuki GS500F; Honda CB400; Suzuki M50 800. Any ideas, immediate exclusions, comments about experiences etc Any I have possibly left out?

I mainly commute in traffic a couple of times a week, head for a leisure ride down the coast and through the mountains every couple of weekends and head up the highway to Brisbane, Ipswich every now and then. I want a fairly upright posture as I do not want the weight on the wrists and I am not into sports riding as a wannabe race pilot. I would like to keep it for a few years and not trade up every year or two because I have outgrown it. I love how the VTR is so nice to ride but with a long termview towards instructing I am concerned it may not give me the experience I need to instruct with experience....