Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Advice wanted - Newbie + 06 CBR600RR straight up

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Jas_1973, Apr 23, 2007.

1. Hi All,

Just found this forum and seen a lot of knowledge and experience is displayed. Time to get some of this knowledge/experience from you.

I am a newbie, last bike I rode was a Kawasaki 75 some 25 years ago. Anyway, got my L's (NSW) through the rider training course. Did not have any issues, but of course it is a controlled environment.

Anyway as I am 34, mature age rider, I can do P's rider training course/test straight away.

Question is, do I just borrow/hire 250's for a month till I get P's (if I pass course/test first time) and then I can buy the bike I want (2006 CBR600RR - Telefonica special) or just bite bullet and buy 250 and keep for 6 months, then upgrade.

At the moment their is some good prices on brand new CBR600RR Telefonica as they are now last years model. Obviously they are not that popular with majority otherwise I would of expected them to sell all new ones by now.

My days of being a total hoon have gone, as I have got older and owned turbo charged and V8 cars. So I think I would have throttle control on a larger bike, giving me some time to get used to riding, and of course heaps of practice on quiet streets/car parks.

Any info/opinions on what I should do, and also opinions on the 2006 CBR600 would be appreciatted.

Thanks in advance.

2. Hope you've done having kids, because you won't be having any after you sit on a cbr600rr for more than 10 minutes. Have you tried it before? Seriously hurt me!