Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Advice on boots

Discussion in 'Riding Gear and Bike Accessories/Parts' started by nerdofsteel, Jul 16, 2007.

1. Netrider folks,

I'm very new to this (still waiting for my first bike to come back from it's roadworthy so that I can call it mine) and I'm still amassing my first complete set of gear.

I have a fair idea of what helmet I'm buying, thanks largely to NR, and likewise for gloves & pants (draggins). I have a jacket already, but I am stuck with regard to boots.

Right now I like the Thomas Cook X-Dayrider boots: they seem to have all the armor I'm worried about (shin and ankle) and they're cheap (~$155). I like that they don't look like space-suit boots, like the higher-end boots do.

...but I keep getting warned off plain-looking boots under the $200 mark by eager shop-assistants who want me to try on their favourite brand of space-suit-boots. The expensive boots always feel great, look horrible, and cost a bomb.

Oh, yeah, the point. Ooops. :grin:

1. Has anyone tried the Dayriders, in what ways, if any, do they suck?

2. Can anyone recommend a beginners boot for under $200, and why?

3. Why should my boots look like space armor and cost as much as my bike? Convince me.

2. I like the RJays Tour AM Boots. I have the ladies one, but I believe they are much of a muchness. I *think* that RJays aren't a favourite brand, but don't really know why :?

Anyhoo, they are $199, non space boots (Also not a fan of space boots or suits or anything else!), 100% leather, waterproof, windproof (no cold tootsies on winter mornings), have hard bits in all the right places, and have the little pad thing that protects them from the gear lever. They are also quite comfy to walk around in too.