Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Advice on beginner bike please

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by GemmaG, Feb 2, 2016.

1. Hi All
    I am new to netrider (and to riding) and do not yet own a bike. I have my L's and am going for my first lesson next week :)
    I am interested in mostly trail riding, and perhaps riding to work every now and then so I am planning to get a bike to meet these needs.
    Im only 165cm tall and 45kg so am struggling to find one that I can reach the floor while sitting and one that isnt too heavy. I sat on a KLX 150 the other day but I can only just touch the ground on one side when pretty much hanging off the bike while wearing boots.

I am open to all recommendations for a suitable beginner bike and plan to go have a look at some bike shops this weekend to check out the different types. Any recommendations would be a great help!

2. A lot of bikes can be lowered so that's something to ask about. If you plan on riding on road you probably want at least 25hp.
  3. I can't offer too much advice as to specific bikes. The only thing I can suggest is obviously sit on EVERYTHING you can until you find one that isn't too tall. Remembering seat width had as much to do with whether you can touch the ground as seat height.

Not that it's really much help to you, but my wife is 164cm and has managed to comfortably ride the Tiger 800XC - but she's been riding for over a decade so was quite confident in the first place.
  4. Hi Gemma,
    As you are a light weight and want to do a bit of trail riding, I'd take a look at the Yamaha XT225 or the Yamaha XT250, both would meet your needs.