Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Advice needed

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Turtl3, Sep 12, 2016.

1. Hi all,

I'm planning on doing a trip either from Bunbury to Mackay or Mackay to Bunbury...possibly even both. This will be my first ever touring ride. Im not a newbie to bikes or riding, but ive never endured more than 5hours of seat time in a day. and ive never tackled a multiple day trip either :confused:. i will be trying to cover atleast 7-800ks per day, but there is no rush- so maybe less if the scenery is good.

First off, I'm planning on going SOLO and im still unsure as to whether its a sane idea to venture off the tarmac given its my first ever tour. So feel free to chime in with a vote of safe or suicidal for that one...

The next problem i face is choosing a bike that will be comfortable and im 6'6...so no sports bike allowed. Im trying to keep the cost down for the purchase price of the bike, which is extremely limiting in itself. im trying to stay at around $3500 with a little wriggle/haggle room. so far my viable options are:
    1999 honda xl1000v varadero. private sale, one owner, 65,000ks, just had major service $3500
    2002 bmw k1200rs. dealership sale, 142,000ks, just had major service + new tyres $3900
    1998 honda st1100. private sale, 95,000ks, ex police bike (probably maintained correctly), recent oil+filter change $3250
    1992 yamaha fj1200. private sale, 64,000ks, log book history, great condition $3000
    im imagining that the last 3 will be pretty limited to the black top...