Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by phedus, Mar 28, 2011.

1. Hi Everyone,

Im coming off my RE license in about 3 months.

I currently ride a little 1991 GPX 250 I got for $2500.00. I have some prior riding experience on 2 stroke and 4 stroke dirt bikes and been on the road the last 9 months nearly every day commuting and riding around the mountains here in QLD north-side of Brisbane. (Mee, Glorius, Nebo etc).

I looking for a bike that I can commute on regularly if I want and take round the twisties and maybe tracks if I want.

Bikes ive been looking into.

sv650 (ridden)
    sv650s (ridden)
    street triple and tt600

My budget will be 10k tops at the moment.

This will be my first big road bike but at the same time Im more then ready for more power.

Should I be looking at the 600's more so than the 1000's.

Can i have as much fun on a naked as to a sport on the mountain tracks?

Would love to hear from you all and also some recommendations you got.

2. Not much difference in handling between sport and naked,
    If you drop a naked, very little damage,
    If you drop a full faired bike, More than likely a complete write off,
  3. What about the bar positioning? This is probably one of my biggest concerns over distances - and wind deflection also.
  4. I reckon you'll be wanting a 600 sports. Doesn't matter which brand. Very civilised for commuting, awesome power when you wind out the revs and the best handling you can get from a bike. I believe naked bikes are actually more fun through the twisty mountain roads, however if I hadn't cut my teeth on 600 sporties I probably wouldn't be having as much fun now. Good luck with your purchase.