Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

advice for complete newbie..

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by jusblaz, Jan 21, 2010.

1. Hey all netriders,

I'm one of the mature age riders that have finally taken the step at getting my L's last weekend and now looking at getting a bike to learn on.
    Have been going through bikesales.com.au and the such to look for something great but at the same time inexpensive for beginners, But always get side tracked and end up looking at the "i want one' bikes.
    Ultimately i would upgrade to something new after i get my P's. For now i think i need a good learners bike around the $3-$4K mark? Any recommendations?
  2. scratch that.. found the search button and discovered heaps of info.
  3. congrats and welcome, you sir get a gold star for being one of the rare few newbies who has found and mastered the search function on this site:eek: (y)

cheers stewy
  4. I vote for making this thread a sticky as a shining example of interwebs usage!!

5. you sir deserve 100 internets
  6. Thanks all..
    After doing a bit of reading through the forum, i would like to settle for a 250. My only problem is which one.
  7. +1 Vote for the VTR250, although if your doing a lot of freeway work, or weigh any more than about 80kgs I'd get something with a bit more poke.
  8. out of a the few 250 i have ridden i am another for the vtr250 probably tops the list, if you are looking at faired bike both the gpx and zzr are probably in the pretty good value range now, the new kwaka also seem quite robust aswell though haven't had a chance to take one for a spin
  9. a vote for the gpx250.
  10. Sit on it .. no, really .. sit on em and get the one that feels it fits you best !