Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ABS on motorcycles

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by takagawa, Jan 23, 2005.

1. Are there any form of ABS on motorcycles? I ask because on my '95 ZZR250, when I emergency brake at relatively slow speeds (about 30km/h) the front brakes 'pulsate', similar to how anti-lock braking systems work. So I'm wondering if there is some sort of ABS there, or if I have some wierd quirk with my technique, or my bike's brakes.

2. There is ABS on motorcycle - particularly for BMW's motorcycles.... but I'm not sure about ZZR though.

I find that my ABS comes in when I brake quickly from relatively high speed not at 30kph.

3. i'm no pro so dont kill me ok?

yeh thier is ABS for bike BMW's and such have em

a zzr250 wouldnt, its probably ur brakes, warped disks?
  4. I dont think that you have ABS as that is an option on more expensive modern bikes, putting it simply, if you had it you would know about it as you would have paid extra $$ for it.

I too have experienced the 'pulsating' you speak of on my current bike and to a lesser extent on others. I think it might have to do with brake rotors, brake pads, suspension or a number of different reasons. I know after upgrading the springs on my current ride it didn't pulsate as much.
  5. Some disk brake systems use a deliberate amount of warp, or taper in a disk rotor to "knock" the pistons back into the calipers, creating a clearance between rotor and pads.

Other systems use a square section seal on the piston to do the same, the piston twists the square seal onto its edges as it's forced toawrds the rotor, then slides further thru if more movement is required. on return the seal returns to square, effectively creating the clearance again.