Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

AAARRRGGG My damn helmet!

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by blue_muppet, Aug 22, 2005.

1. Once again, i've been a total newbie and dropped my helmet........again.

This is the second time now and both times I have manged to take some nice chips off the front chin section and put scratchs in the visor. Its a real pain in the ass!

I think I might have to get a new visor now because the scratchs are right in front of my eyes. Does anybody have a idea how much a new visor would cost?

Would it be worth getting a tinted one or just stick with the clear visor?

BTW - my helmet is a Nitro N510-V (el cheapo) rrp:$150

2. Yeah, did the same thing this morning. Got off the bike after a freezing cold ride from Port Campbell to Melbourne at 4:30 am.

Hands were a bit numb and I thought I had it when I didn't. Dropped 3 ft onto concrete, rolled off the ledge on the patio and dropped 5 ft onto limestone. :( New helmet time I think.

How high were the drops and onto what surface? If they were decent you might be better off getting a new helmet from a safety point of view. They're pretty much designed to deal with one hit and then be replaced.
  3. just wanted to add to this a question. they say you should replace your helmet when you drop it??.. do peeps actually do that? ..i mean i can be a butter fingers and no doubt id be doing that a couple times a month
  4. First off, stop dropping it :D

Not sure if you can even get replacement visors for your type of helmet but if you can defiantly go for a tinted one as riding with a clear visor on a sunny day is just plain nasty :cry: