Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

A way around LAMS

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by aldrich, Jan 23, 2007.

1. Hi all, this is my first post.

I have already read some of the topics and have enjoyed reading them and getting my questions answered.

I have 1 question though.

If i write a letter to the RTA about a specific bike I wanna ride, do you think they will let me?

see there's this bike i wanna ride - the ZXR 400. its so beautiful.

and its only about 15kw over the 150kw limit.

do u think i would have a case?

also how do cops know that your bike is learner legal anyways?

i've been riding my GPX for about 6 months now and not one was i pulled over and been checked.

does anyone know of any way around LAMS?
  2. First of all, welcome to Netrider.

Lines in the sand have to be drawn somewhere; everyone could ask for an exceptional case for his or her bike, and before you know it learners would be on 900 Fireblades. The list is the list and I've never heard of it being departed from.

Police don't have to know every bike on the LAMS list, but if you flash by, or are pulled over, all they have to do is access the computer system, and you're gone.

And if you are pulled over for riding a bike over the LAMS limit, you can expect to be penalised.
  3. Indeedy doody. On the RTA screen of the computer check done on your bike will be a little field that will have the letters "LA" meaning Learner Approved. If that doesn't come up & you're on your L's.... :(

As for applying for special circumstances, I believe manufacturers would be the only ones who would have a hope in hell of getting a bike put on the LAMS list. Joe Citizen would have no show.