Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

A probable hypothetical situation

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by hazard121, Aug 8, 2005.

1. heres the scoop, i live in the NT right now, and next year will be traveling down to QLD for university, but my permanent residence will still be in the northern territory and i'll only be in QLD to study, then traveling home on holidays..For this reason im quite sure i'll be fine to keep my NT bike/car licence, but my question/s are...

A) If i brought a bike in qld would i be able to register it in qld with my NT licence or would i have to either bring it back to NT, register and then take it to QLD where im studying??

8) Since im just in QLD to study and need a method of transport and my perminent residence is still in NT, i wouldnt have to change my car/bike licence over to QLD would I??

cheers

2. I don't know what the law is in the NT (being a territory) but in NSW licencing goes on the PPR basis; principal place of residence. Lots of people used to register vehicles out of state because it was cheaper, but the law was changed to stop that. I think now you have a short period of time in which to re-resister your vehicle IN NSW and after that you can be fined, and there are insurance inplications too. Licence, dunno.

3. The only reasons preventing me from swapping my licence over to qld is it is quite cheap to renew compared (i think) as its only 18 dollars a year, well car anyway, only just got bike licence so not sure but im guessing together it'll be aound $30..and also there is no points system in NT, so only way to loose your licence is extreme speeding (40kms+) or extreme drink driving (0.15bac or above)