Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

a lot of k's?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by BlueRex, Sep 19, 2007.

1. I am trying to sell my 2003 VTR250 on ebay and a guy just messaged me saying he would purchase it for a certain price and that what i was offering was a lot for a bike with 27,500 k's on it

Seeing as this is my first bike i am new to what is normal for a bike to do in k's.

Is this a lot for an 03?

2. No. He is scamming you. It represents an average of 600k's per year. Not much eh.
  3. Thanks for the reply.
  4. +1

Sounds like they're a bike newbie and think that kms dictates the bikes condition.
  5. :shock: what would he say about my '98 Hornet with 103,000 kms? :shock: :LOL:.
  6. he would probably offer you $5.00 as it has obviously done waaay to many k's and is falling apart :p
  7. shhh, don't tell it, now, it actually thinks it's fine :rofl:.
  8. 40,000

When I was shopping round for my VTR I was told that anything under 40,000km was still pretty good. The advice to me was that 40,000 on a bike is roughly equivalent to 80-100,000km in a car when trying to compare 'wear' factor.
  9. ummmm... i have 68000 kms on my VTR250 now and it hasn't missed a beat :) ... just make sure it's well maintained!
  10. You will always get people telling you what faults your bike has, even if they aren't true. It's what they do, tell you this, and this, and this is wrong with it to knock down the price so they can get it nice and cheap which is a problem if you don't know much about them. Best bet is to have someone with you that knows about bikes if u get get a prospective buyer having a look at it.