Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

A guiding hand (Guardian Angel)

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by OFI-NT, Aug 6, 2013.

1. Not sure if this is the right area to put this so Mods, move it if you have to. Let me start just by saying I am not an overly religious person but I think the thread title applies.

This thread has a lot of stories about near misses that MAY, in some part, be partly attributed to the rider. I am going to give you two stories about near misses that were totally my fault and no one else's.

Just so you know, my background is that I have been riding since I was 9y/o and on the highways since I was 14y/o. I am in my mid 50's and am a retired Paramedic (15yrs) / Defensive Driving Instructor (8yrs).

The first is 1983, I have a Honda VF500 and I'm living in Darwin. I decided I would surprise my parents at home in Canberra and just turn up for my 25th B'day. I left Darwin, headed south to the Three Ways, turned left and through to Cloncurry, then right and heading to Blackall / Barcaldine.

Qld Government were updating the goat track to a proper Highway. They had a 20km - 30km detour of dirt etc running beside the new, raised 4 lane wide unsealed (as yet) road but there were no vehicles working on it. So, after about 10km of this I started to get peed off and decided to motor cross through the scrub up to the smooth gravel.

Off I went travelling south but at 130kph instead of 50kph. I was cruising for about 5 minutes when I noticed I was approaching a roadside camp where all the guys had gathered for lunch. I slowed down so as not to make too much noise but someone noticed me and started running toward me waving their arms, then others joined in. So I did what anyone would do and gunned it.