Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

A bit :( Do I need cheese & crackers with my whine?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by chicken78, Nov 20, 2010.

1. Ok Im a learner, Im a newbie, I have a "L" Plate which stands out like well, you know. And yes its probably a right royal pain in the ass for car drivers & some motorcyclists seeing a learner on the road...However,

Ive taken plenty of advice and spent several weeks just practicing basic skills neccesary before i hit the bigger stuff. Well that was this week, went out today in the hills, nothing serious low speed zones so 60-80klm and im totally dumbfounded at the number of cars tailgating (WHEN IM DOING THE $%^$%^ speed limit) and the several riders who had plenty of time to see me but still insisted on passing through the corners at warp speed and way to close. I dont want to race on the road, Im trying to do the right thing but by the same token I dont ride like a grandma either so I wasnt just putting along but still on the speed limit!:nopity:

Is this just a bad day? Am I being a sook? or do i just need to harden up?

2. nope car drivers generally are stoopid

3. OK Ill just have my cup of concrete and deal with them :D

4. might be just the weekend drivers. my son is on his L's and I've been taking him around sassafras/emerald/cockatoo etc after work and the locals are OK. could be because I'm with him. earlyish in the morning can be good up there. locals go quick as they know the roads but are polite so I get out of the way if I think I'm holding them up.

5. Cars tailgating are not good for a new rider. And if you start peering at them in the mirror to keep cjecking how colse they are you stop focussing on the road ahead.