Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

'99 250 Hornet dipstick?

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by AwkwardPause, Nov 18, 2015.

1. Hey Folks, noob here. Just about to register my first bike, a '99 250 Hornet. For some reason the previous owner did away with the dipstick for a red machined alloy cap. Other than draining and refilling the oil, is there an easy way I can check the level? I've searched the engine and there doesn't seem to be a sight window on it. Help!!!! Ha ha!

2. Use a straw to check level ... And if to much you can suck some out ;)
  3. I tried that. Now I'm well lubed, but I'm still not sure about the bike!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  4. If in doubt do an oil change and refill with the correct amount of oil on the side of the case.
  5. It looks like I'll have to do that. Bummer because it was recently serviced. I thinking more of ongoing checks. I didn't realise that Hornet spares were as common as rocking-horse poop in Aus.
  6. Not really, certainly not confidently. Your choices probably are to either i) hit the wreckers and see if you can get one, or ii) ask another rider with the same bike to show you their's, measure the distance to low and high markers, and fashion your own from a piece of clothes hanger wire or similiar.
  7. Thanks. That's what I was thinking. I'll be the moron frantically chasing down the next Hornet I see on the road! Ha ha!
    • Funny Funny x 1
  8. Grab a book and hang-out at the Lorne servo and wait for one to come to you? I'd think it wouldn't take long one fine Saturday or Sunday.
    I can just imagine you walking up to a Hornet 250 owner saying, "Hey, can I check out your dipstick?". If you do, please make sure you're wearing a GoPro and show us the result :) :)
    • Funny Funny x 3