Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

91 spada 250 speedo help

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by jazzthechef, Sep 21, 2008.

1. i have a 91 spada vt250 and the odometer doesnt tick over and today the speedo started picking up speed reeeaaaalll slow. so i would like to replace it and was wondering how to go about it and cost of parts. does it have to be from a 91 model or will another year do. Also what rating of engine oil should i use? And is there any good parts shops/ wreckers that could help me out. Im in melbourne Thanks

2. Hey mate, I am no expert on the vt 250 but your problem sounds like a stuffed speedo cable, i am pretty sure that your speedo itself is fine. You can get the speedo cables at most Honda dealers or ebay. I use 10W-30 but it depends on your climate, since you are in Melbourne i reckon both 10W-30 and 10W-40 will do. There is a big honda wrecker in heidelberg but i forgot the name sorry.
  3. Hey, sorry its actually a Honda dealer, its called Redwing Honda, here is some details:

72 - 74 Bell St
    VIC, 3084

(03) 9459 5553

You should have a look in the yellowpages coz i am sure there are some big wreckers around melbourne that will be able to help you out in parts :)

Regards, Stef
  4. I wouldn't use a 10W30 oil in a VT250. It's fine in NSR150 2-Stroke transmissions however.

They love 15W50 as it really helps their weak plain bearing cranks to survive.

10W40 is the Honda global spec. for your engine.
  5. It's probably the cable but if it is the speedo - good luck...

Firstly when bikes are wrecked because of a crash - the main reason for them being wrecked - then the instruments often take the brunt.