Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

50cc scooters - which is better than what...

Discussion in 'Scooters' started by bektravels, Jul 6, 2006.

1. Hi All

I'm a scooter newbie in adelaide - looking to buy my first one for getting to work and back (15km round trip). I pretty much want to stick to a 50cc cos of the bike license thing.

I've done a bit of research online but can't find many reviews so I thought I'd ask for some opinions here... I like the retro styling and am thinking of something like the Bolwell Retro, Mio, Honda Today or Scoopy... Not too keen on the Vmoto Milan, I did a search here and read a few bad things.

I went into the Honda dealer and he thought perhaps a Vespa ET2 50 would be better than the honda's - but with on road costs $3800 is getting a bit too steep - anyone think it's worth the extra dosh tho?

The Aprilia Mojito's look gorgeous too:)
    Thanks in advance!
  2. have you thought about the Peugot Snake?

Personally I would suggest you spend just a little more to get one that you FEEL safe to ride in. Main thing to check are brakes, width of tyres, suspension, fuel and power!!

Other things that may help you with the short list are storage capacity (full face helmet under seat or ability to get a top box), high low beam, centre stand, maintenance cost.

Fuel consumption on all carby scooter are very similar. The few fuel injected ones are miles ahead with that. But you pay lots for.

I wouldn't recommend you getting something under powered. You will have a nightmare at the lights and getting swamped by cars, very DANGEROUS!! Not to mention a strugle to go uphill.

And please DON'T FORGET to save about $800 for riding gloves, armoured jacket, helmet and insurance!