Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

46yo awkward Newbie on first bike ( Honda SL250 )

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by VCM, Jul 8, 2007.

1. Hi Guys... Just wanna thankyou for a great site .. Very informative !!
    I am a newbie, havent ridden since my YZ80 back when i was 15.
    I finally got my learners, and purchased a Honda SL250. ( Choice was limited due to my lack of height ). My intention is to practice riding skills as much as possible, and get as much advice as I can, so I do not become a statistic.
    I need some advice on the correct way to stop at an interstection. IE which foot down??? I have read that its best to put your left foot down and keep your right foot on the rear brake, ( which kinda makes sense especially on an incline ). However with the left foot down... How in blazes can one change gear, whether its to select neutral at a long stop, or first gear.. ready to go, without looking like a doofus, humbling about.
    Am keen to hear what procedures experienced bikers use.

2. i gear down to 2nd, releasing the clutch in every gear to use engine braking and just before becoming stationary i select first gear and hold the clutch at the lights. this leaves you in a good position to get going, or get out of trouble should a car come hurtling from behind you.
    i only ever select neutral at the lights if it is roadworks and is likely to be more than a minute of two.
    as for "what foot down?" for a learner i would suggest left foot down (after selecting first) because then you have full control of the bike. you can go forwards because you are in first, you can hold the bike because you are covering the back brake and you have a foot on the ground.
    good luck with it :grin:
  3. Hi Welcome to Netrider!!