Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2wk trip - Melb to Sydney...what to pack?!

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by I Adore Vic, Dec 17, 2006.

1. Hey all. I'm heading off on a nice, easy, take your time and enjoy the journey type of trip to Sydney next Tuesday and seeing as I've never done anything like this before, I'm a bit stumped on what to pack.

Today I bought myself a little tent - like a swag - from Rays in Dandenong. They were on special for $49...used to be $99...and they're berloody light and compact - perfect for the bike. (They're better than the other ones I bought Woodsy!)

I've got an excellent little sleeping bag and mattress.

I also bought a first aid kit today which has all the basics.

And a torch which has a flashing function and personal alarm.

Besides clothing and toiletries (and I wont be packing much of the former), I'm not sure what else I should be loading on the bike.

My bike has a basic tool kit, but are there other items I shouldn't leave home without in case I have problems with the bike?

Aaargh...I've no idea what else really!

Thoughts/ideas appreciated. :)

Oh BTW...I'm nervous as hell!! Bit excited too though. :)
  2. Well, you're not going off the well beaten track. So if you forget anything you can always buy it. So make sure you have plenty of money. Keep a good reserve of $$$ in case you need to bail yourself out of trouble at any time.

You might want to consider a hydra pack, just in case it gets hot while your riding around. Those things can be a life saver.
  3. Chain lube. unless you have a scott oiler installed.
  4. Pack a sense of humour !
    No doubt you'll be catching up with us crazies from Syd ! :LOL:

On a serious note, learn how the road tolls work ! :grin: