Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2nd hand bikes - check your suspension

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by UDLOSE, Oct 17, 2008.

1. Hi Guys, I just thought i'd let u know my experience, because theres a chance that someone out there could be suffering the same problem.

I bought my cbr900 off a guy that had taken it to a few track days. I've been struggling with my ridding a bit, i've always felt like something isn't right in the suspension department, but because I'm still learning I have mainly been focusing on myself and tried not to blame the bike.

I noticed lately that alot of thing have been vibrating lose and i've really noticed that it feels too stiff. So i bite the bullet and bought a service manual went through and set all the adjustments to stock specs. I 95kgs and i ride with a pillion alot so maybe i should tweak it a bit more for the weight later, but i figured resetting it by the book is a good starting point.

Most of the settings were set to 100% hard or close to it. The guy had obviously stiffened it up heaps for the track, I admit that the bike seemed amazingly stable at very high speed, but it always suffered at low speed. Now it's like a new bike! I cant wait to take it down the OPH tomorrow :D:D:D

I still need to check my pressures which I haven't done in a while so theres a good chance i'll gain a little more improvement.

So moral of the story is check that your settings are correct as per the manual because u never know what the previous owner might have done.

I did write down all the original presets so that when I take it to the track if i find it's not riding so well i've got a setup I can try.

2. Hey mate,