Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

250's at 100km/h +

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by jadas, Aug 12, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,
    I'm a newbie here, looking to make my first purchase very soon. I'm after something that will sit comfortably on the highway, but really dont want to buy anything too big. A LAMS 500cc would be ok, but my question is really this:
    Are there any 250's that will be happy doing highway km's without revving too much, that I should look into?

2. I have a hyo 250gtr it sits fine at 100 even 110, less power obviously, but sits great, rides well without revving too high
  3. Ninja/gpx 250 will hapily sit at highway speeds all day long with plenty to spare
  4. yup...gpx 250 got a 98 model...she's not even in perfect runnin order.. she'll comfortably do 100-120kmph ...once she gets upto about 9-11k rpm in 6th is when she's sittin on 135-140 area (floggin her lil ass)
  5. I guess I'm leaning towad a 250 mostly cos I'm only small, and the 500 I sat on last week felt so big!
  6. Jadas, have u had a look at the Suzuki GS500?? Cracking good first bike, happy on the highway, cheap to maintain, suits the small stature person. AND some great prices around at the dealers right now.
  7. i had a gpx250 and it went 100 nps... most i got it to was $1.80, that was full bore down a hill though :)
  8. Yes I have had a look at the gs500, in fact it was one of those that I sat on and felt was quite big! Part of me also suspects that I would soon get used to the size. So far my only real comparison has been the CB250 i got my L's on...
  9. The only problem with 250's as that manufacturers sometimes gear them for lower speeds (and still insist on pathetic fuel tanks).