Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

250 Shift Speeds (or am I rooting my bike?)

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by NothingExpert, Sep 21, 2012.

1. Ok so I'm not sure if this should be here or in tech but this seemed the more likely post. Firstly thanks in advance and I apologise for what might seem like a stupid question, but I'm new to bikes and I don't really know what they can handle (I know cars fine but feel like this is a slightly different animal). I don't have a tach on the Virago and it drives me nuts as I don't know if I'm damaging the engine by riding it too hard. I'd like to think that I will keep the bike in as best as possible condition until I'm ready to move up to a real bike and I really can't afford engine related repairs right now. It's a 2012 model and I've put nearly 4000ks on it since the end of July. People on Virago Tech Forum were discussing shift speeds and most shift very early, ending up in fifth while travelling at 40mph (they are yanks in the main). Now this was the way I rode before the first service to ride the bike in. Now it is ridden in, I've been pushing it harder, particularly as I've been commuting and want to keep out in front of traffic to avoid becoming jam. The bike seems to handle the way I am riding it (it's not screaming its guts out like it has on the two occasions when I have shifted down too far at high speed) and I don't know if I am capable of shifting to second at 15km!!! (Maybe I should I be looking at trading it in for a Ninja? lol) I weigh about 100kg and I'm not carrying more than my work uniform and maybe a text book or two.

My shift speeds are as follows and the variations depend on how hard I am riding:

1->2 35-40kmh
    2->3 55-60kmh
    3->4 75-80kmh