Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

250 Hornet fork Mod - is it possible - or even required

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by StabbyTMP, Apr 5, 2008.

1. Well, first of all I must say reading peoples tips and techniques on this forum has been very valuable, and I am thoroughly impressed with the wealth of knowledge found here.

-- back story --
    I am a newbie rider, have held L permit for 6 months and have thoroughly enjoyed the learning process thus far, with no spills yet (touch wood).
    I am a classic Vespa (vbb150cc) owner who is looking for something with a little more grunt, and that might actually allow me to use the freeways - my lil scoot will only hit around 70kmh (on a good day with little wind) but hey they weren't designed to be rockets :p

And I am looking at purchasing a new ride - Honda Hornet 250 - mainly for its frame size - as I am around 6'4" and feel that the riding position will be comfortable that I've sat in yet, a friend owns an RGV and it feels like Im sitting on a playing card.

-- cut to the chase --
    I am curious if it would be possible to drop in a set of forks/ front end from a 600 hornet of the same era, as they supposedly have the same frame, the reason for doing this would be the added stopping power of an additional disk.

Is there an easier way?

Has anyone done this here before?
    -I've tried googling on a couple of variants of the same question to no avail.

Should I even bother?

And either than light coloured/reflective protective gear, would there be anything else that one might suggest to improve safety and driver awareness.
  2. Doubt u need it. Only thing a 2nd disc will do is enable u to do stopies at will.
    As a rule anything can be made to fit with some enginering.