Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2010 Honda VT750S Review

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by dan_man_x, Dec 5, 2013.

1. #1 dan_man_x, Dec 5, 2013
    Last edited: Dec 5, 2013
    OK I've lived with the Honda now for about 1 week. Time to jot down some thoughts.

Firstly, the bike looks amazing. Classic style with modern touches.

Secondly, the bike sounds pretty good too, most of the time.

Everything else I have to say is not going to be so graceful.

I really wonder what Honda were thinking. I might be overly critical because I build products for a living, but I can't think how someone who builds things could think to themselves, "yep, it's done".

No, sorry, it's not done, it's a fcuking right cock up is what it is. OK, it's a bike, it does the basic job of getting you from A to B, you look good, and you sound good doing it. That's about it.

It only takes about 30km of highway riding before you start to realise it's faults. And here they are:
    1. The handlebars have far too much vibration in them at 100kph.
    2. The crossover pipe on the exhaust is far too hot for sitting at a red light on a hot day. You'll be shifting in your seat wondering why your right leg is feeling the heat all of a sudden. People have been burnt by this and pants and boots have been helpless victims (not in my experience, but others have reported this). You cannot take a pillion as the exhaust will nuke whatever is within 10 cm of it.
    3. Speaking of the seat. It's uncomfortable as all hell after about 20 mins.
    4. The rear brake is hopeless, but that's not too much of a big deal.