Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2007 KTM 690 Supermotard quick review

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Scumbag, Aug 17, 2007.

1. As most people know I work in the industry and in my current job I have the ability to take some interesting bikes for a road test.
    I have just ridden on my normal loop (10km) a '07 690 Supermotard KTM
    Impressions, good torque off the bottom but nothing up higher, just revs and makes vibrations, handles really well, the wide bars allow you to muscle it around.
    Brakes are very good.
    Did I say it vibrates a lot.
    Is not aggresive enough in its delivery for the type of bike it is. Needs more snap to it to make it more fun.
    Will mono (honest officer it is a test) in first gear ok and probably clutch up in second.
    Would I buy one, no, have to see what else is out there.
    Scumbag out.

2. Is that all you have to say on the subject...
    Give us a real review mate :p
  3. It'll be a good thing when derestricted. More horsepower than the 640, or even the 525 and 560. If it doesnt power up wheelies in 3rd I will eat my hat.

I can't find any bugger that'll give me a ride on one, let alone one with a set of pipes and a non-ADR map in it. :(
  4. You don't sound very impressed Mr Scumbag?

The big 950 SM version better?

I still want to try a Superduke before I die.
  5. Dude!!

It been over of the better posts lately rather than the usual:

How fast will my POS go?
    (Not very...)
    Whats better CVB250 or a ZXJ 247?
    (Neiher, nobody cares...)
  6. Devotard, yep we want to try one with the different map and cans on it, trouble is no one wants to buy one and put them on, hehehe