Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2007 GSX1400 on original tyres

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Gsxjumbo, Mar 14, 2016.

1. Hi All, I'm a Noob here, and here is my Noob Q(s)
    I just bought my latest bike, a 2007 Suzuki GSX1400, with just 4,500 kms on it. It's still on it's original Bridgies and i have noticed the tyres are bleeding up to 4 psi between rides, sometimes in as little as 2 or 3 days.
    Is this normal?
    Do street tyres typically have an "expiry"?
    The older i get the faster i was, having said that i haven't had them move on me too much in the dry, but caught in the wet I had a 260 kg moto crosser on my hands. Pirelli Angel GT's are on the shopping list, but the original tyres have visibly a bit more left in them.

2. The rubber starts to deteriorate. 5 years is the lifespan normally thrown around. It obviously would be more damaging to the tyre if the bike was kept outside and exposed to UV. If your not confident in the tyre though it's probably a question of what price do you put on safety/peace of mind.
  3. For goodness sake, get some fresh tyres..... please.

Tyres that were new in 2007, are WAY too old in 2016.
    • Agree Agree x 5
  4. Get new boots for sure.
    Don't get Angel GTs.

They're are crap in the dry and crap in the wet.

I'd go Pilot road 4 or Metlzer Z8s.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  5. #5 Gsxjumbo, Mar 14, 2016
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 14, 2016
    Thought as much, thanks guys.

They all have great reviews. Did you have a bad experience with the Angel GT's?

6. Seconded.
    • Like Like x 1
  7. Yes.

They've let go on me multiple times in the dry.

One very bad.
    Corner exit. Rear let go. Near high side.

I don't trust them one bit.