Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2001 Ducati Monster 900 Dark

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by nibor, Sep 27, 2009.

1. i'm test riding a one on tuesday i think.

it's black.
    it's naked.
    it's a twin.
    it's a duke.

i want it.

tell me everything you know about these bikes!
    looks to be in great condition, but i'm no mechanic. one thing i'm not 100% sure on is the owner said it's been serviced every 15,000km. seems a rather large interval for a motorbike? 46,000 on it, due for another service at 50k.
    will most likely be taking it in to Metro in Ringwood for a check-up.

needs new rubber for a RWC, sprockets and chain look good, fairly fresh. staintune carbon fibre cans, K&N open air filter, tail tidy. fugly screen on it though haha. 2001 is fuel injected i'm pretty sure.

it's like a beefy VTR =D
  2. Yeah, the Monster Dark is a hawt bike, no doubt about it. I do recall hearing something about Dukes and long service intervals... maybe a major ever 15k but oil changes in between? Someone will be along shortly who knows... Good call taking it for a mechanic's check. And yeah, I personally would be ditching the screen... it's not what this bike is *for*!
  3. I've had some experience with Monsters.
    My question would be whether it has been serviced at say the 20,000 and 40,000km marks. A question from the cogniscenti. Or perhaps within the last two years. ;) This is a serious question because I've heard the sound of a Ducati L twin running on one cylinder and it's akin to kerching of a cash register!