Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2000 Honda VTR250 vs new Suzuki GS500

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Iulian, Dec 28, 2012.

1. #1 Iulian, Dec 28, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2012
    Hi there,

I'm new to motorcycling (just got my learner permit) and am looking at buying a bike this weekend. I've had a look at a few options and got to these two options:

Honda VTR 250 naked, year 2000, rego till Sept 2013, new front tire, good rear tire, red of course, 29000km - $3500. I had a look at it and even took it for a ride and it feels OK, though I know little of how to evaluate it. Otherwise it looks pretty clean.
    OR
    New Suzuki GS500 naked, year 2012, 1 year rego - $6000 (deal ends on December 31st - in 2 days ;) ).

I'm leaning towards the VTR as I'd be able to change the bike after a year or so without losing much money and move to a bike that I can keep a few years after. The Suzuki as far as I've read is a good bike, but not the bike to keep it for a few years. Though buying a new bike doesn't make sense unless you'd wanna keep it for at least 3-4 years as the price drops instantly once you're out of the shop.

Which one would you recommend?

Cheers,
    Iulian.

2. First post in the welcome thread before a mod jumps in here and sees it is your first post.
    Also, you will find plenty of comparisons and opinions on both bikes here already. There is one recent one. Use the search tool.
    Ride the GS500 and see what you think. If you have enough experience to get a feel for the VTR you have enough for the GS500,

3. I owned both when I first got my license.
    The GS is heavier and bigger but easier to ride on the highway.