Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2000 GXSR 600 Help - Fuel consumption and oil

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by heregoes, Apr 17, 2006.

1. Hi all

I very recently got a GSXR 600 and i am just wondering a few things. I am new to the world of bikes so still got a lot to learn technically. Anyway i was wondering about the fuel light on the bike, it came on and it took only 10 L to fill it up, that was two days ago and now i have done only 180km and the light is back on, does that sound right? I have not ridden her overly hard and there does not appear to be leaks. I also noticed that the little oil window on the side of the bike is way low, should that be a the full position when cold? I have read the oil recommendations thread and have an idea what i need to put in but you do you guys use un your Gixxer?

Thanks for the help!

2. Sorry I can't help with anything specific but I'd recommend (between now and when someone with a gsxr answers) taking a look at your owner's manual or downloading the shop manual from the sticky thread at the top of one of the forum sections.

If you're going to be doing regular and/or more advanced maintenance on your bike a shop manual is one of the best investments you can make - it's always there with pictures and explanations for those "ah crap, am I going to damage something doing this" moments. For about $50 brand new (or cheaper from eBay) they're worth every penny.