Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2 tales

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by not_sane, Sep 1, 2005.

1. Just went for a walk through the city up to the victoria bridge, watched a champ car and 2 v8 supercars do a lap and a couple of burnouts... was good. indie has started :D:D:D:D

Had a professional guy come out and check my bike out last night. I could talk about that for 1/2 an hour and never shut up but he was tellin me a story bout the engines in them.
    He is a engine rebuilder by trade, started with cars, went to boats, bikes and airplane engines and has also done some engineering. he was tellin me that at a bbq him a couple of mates would pull the engine out of something and put it on a test bench at full revs and put bets on how long the engine would last.
    so they got a wrecked cbr and took the engine out of it. any guesses on how long the engine lasted? i said 20mins thinkin that it would be about fair.

4hours later the little screamer was still going, they ended up draining the oil out of it and it still ran for a while. no one won....

just thought that was worth knowing for some of those people that are worried about blowing up little engines
  2. am i the only one that finds this interesting?

and none of you are even gonna make a comment about it

** hits head against wall.

3. wanker

4. haha :evil:

5. i had a professional come look at your mum when i was hiring her.. he said she would last hours, that minute i paid in cash the 3.50 and took her home!

but on a serious note yeah thats good they last ages.. my zxr has 40100 on the clock now :D runs well.. i cant compare it to a brand new bike tho..
  6. So you can run it without oil, very economical.