Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2 stroke vs 4 stroke for maintenance issues

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by daedalus, Aug 20, 2009.

1. i would like to buy a 2 stroke honda nsr150 but i am worried about its reliability and maintenance issues due to its being 2 stroke.

my understanding is 2 strokes are cheaper to maintain but need to be maintained more regularly.

From reading the nsr150 maintenance thread, some guy had to pay $1400 for a "top end rebuild"! I understand that this has to occur every 15000km

is this true? is this normal for a bike? would a 4 stroke require this? as $1400 every 15000km is very costly!

thanks

PS: I am a total newbie at bikes, just got my Ls!

2. i took my nsr250 to a couple of mechanics and that i would be looking at paying 3k give or take. and more if i dont take the farings off before hand

but ive asked around and found people who have learnt themselves how to do top end rebuilds and costs them up to 300 dollars for parts and a couple of hours of bending your back.

3.  Top
  4. so the rebuild cost is mainly labour? is it hard to learn? i know nothing of bikes but i can learn

where would i learn from? books?

5. what do you mean "up to an engineer rebuild"?

so in conclusion a 4stroke will be much less costly to maintain?

6. Long and the short of it, yep.

Always good to know how to do it yourself though.

7. Pfffft...I do top end rebuilds on the NSR150 for around $180. And I do that every 12,000ks and I can do it now in about 1 hour.

Someone is yanking your chain big time. I personally think they are a piece of piss to work on, and bugger all cost.