Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2 Stroke fuel/oil question

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by robsalvv, Dec 12, 2008.

1. Hi ya NR.

I was looking at two stroke oils today for a little two stroke engine I have. Victa have a Formula V two stroke oil which they reckon you only need to use half as much oil. Are they fair dinkum? Or is there something different about Victa 2 strokes which allow them to fuel them with half the oil??

I've got no 2T experience, so interested to learn some stuff.

2. If you use too much oil it will be smokey. However, if you use too little the engine will seize and die.

I know nothing about this new wonder oil but if you want to be sure, start with 25:1 and work your way down till it stops smoking. I don't know how old the engine is or what it's manafacturer recomends so that's the best advice I can come up with. :)
  3. I'm interested to learn about this one also, maybe it has a teflon coated piston, or they are stressing the use of full synthetic oil that can be run at 100:1 rather than 25:1 of mineral oil?
  4. The engine manufacturer of the engine I have recommends running in with a 16:1 fuel mix and then running at 20 - 25:1

The Victa formula V 2T oil is a valvoline formulation and it says right on the front, makes up twice the amount of fuel... I just downloaded a victa manual for their 2 stroke lawn mower and it says in the manual that the warranty will hold if you use the official high performance oil mixed 50:1... all other oils must be 25:1. That says that the engine isn't anything special, but there's something special about the oil...

What could be so special that you only need to use half as much?? ...for one thing the oil is BLUE... and can other 2T engines use the oil at 50:1???