Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

2 stroke 250cc's

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Mr Luke, Jan 19, 2009.

1. I've been riding for a few months now and have probably 5,000 k's under my belt (Honda VTR250). Recently I started looking at some 2-strokes (RS250, NSR250, RGV250). I test rode an RS250 on the weekend and damnn I want one!

A few people however have warned me off them, not so much because of the maintenance aspect etc, but more because "they're dangerous" for inexperienced riders/hard to ride etc.

Since test riding, I can see where they are coming from - the bike is in a different league to any other 4 stroke 250 and the way the power comes on is different to a 4 stroke too.

What are everyone's thoughts on this (and even just generally on owning a 2 stroke e.g. any less practical than a 4 stroke)?
  2. They were never intended as a learner bike - they're simply a race-bike with blinkers. May as well wait till you can buy a 600 - you'll get a similar level of power without the hassles of a 2-stroke. Besides, with 2-stroke 250s having now been banned in both NSW and VIC their value is likely to drop dramatically over the next few years.
  3. I wouldn't touch one the increased running cost is not worth it. If you want a 230 race, fine. But for normal use stick with a 4 stroke.
  4. Yeh i agree with the rest,

2 stroke = Hassles :LOL:

Unless you're good with maintainence and are interested in thrashing that little beastie around the track, i'd suggest staying away.

If you're hearts set on it though, not much we here can do to stop you. :wink:
  5. 250 2 strokes are not lams so you can ride it if you are restricted.