Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1st Proper near miss!

Discussion in 'Your Near Misses - A Place to Vent' started by swaytan, Mar 4, 2012.

1. Hey Guys,

So I had my 1st proper near miss today. I was riding west on Salisbury Road in Camperdown today at about 1:30pm, when a lady in a white toyota camry decided she'd turn right from a side street in front of me. I was doing just under 50kph (50 speed limit) and grabbed the brakes with everything I had. Probably lucky my bike has ABS.

Even though I'm a noob at riding I think I'm pretty safe. She seemed to think the thing to do was to give me a mouthful, even though she was completely in the wrong. I love people!

2. So the ABS almost certainly saved you from going down.... What did you do wrong? What is wrong with that comment?
  3. Sorry I just meant even though I'm not very experienced as a rider, I'm an experienced car/bus/truck driver. I think that being a bus driver has made me a better rider, I look at the road differently now that I drive heavy vehicles.

Yup, think the ABS saved me this time! The extra $ turned out to be worth it!
  4. ABS is a fantastic advancement in motorcycle safety, but it is absolutely no substitute for correct braking procedure. It may be possible to actually decrease your braking distance by learning the correct order and technique of propper e-braking.

Well done on avoiding the accident, is there anything you might do differently next time?
    • Like Like x 1