Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1st Bike

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by 4orbes, Feb 20, 2012.

1. Hi everyone I am a newbie. I am going for an RE license this weekend and I am excited/clueless about purchasing my first bike.

Netrider forums are incredible, I've learned a lot by reading through the posts. Particularly Bretto61's post for new riders. (Check it out fellow newbies)

I have one query though I hope someone can help me with. How many km's is too many? I am searching for an Used 250+ LAMS in the $2500 range. I thought that one should aim for under 10,000km, however all the cruisers that catch my eye are closer to 30,000.

Thanks for reading my post!
  2. I avoided this issue as I bought my bike new, but from what I know, the whole km thing varies from bike to bike. Eg. Most old CBR250s will have ticked over so the km figure isn't reliable. But then again old LAMS bikes such as that, or the occasional old Ninja and GPX250 are probably still around because they were made well and are still "reliable" bikes. I didn't find many LAMS bikes from the early '00s which someone suggested to me was because a lot of them were of poor build quality; it became about churning out junk hunks instead of good bikes people can keep (how true this is; I'm not sure, but it sounds believable enough to me).
    Then there's the whole thing about certain km milestones suggesting it's time for an engine rebuild or a major service... hence the bike being sold so the seller avoids paying for it. So be careful of that!

Also sorry, realise you're looking at cruisers but my interest was in the pseudo-"sporty" bikes when I was shopping, hence the references to them.

Hells yeah, do want.
  3. Welcome to NR. (y)