Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1st Bike, 1st project, too much?

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Recon, Dec 21, 2011.

1. Hey there all

This is my first post as I'm new to roadbiking at the tender age of 31, having just got my bike license, and am now looking for a project to combine with my first bike - really something I can use to learn about bikes, learn how to maintain them and get a feel for what I can do in my garage and what I should farm out to experts! Now I have next to no mechanical experience but am a quick learner!..

So, here's the plan...

I want to take a Honda VLX400 and bobber it.

So from this:

to this:

So I have a couple of questions please!

1st - is this a big job? ie is this too big for an enthusiastic amateur to sink his teeth into?

2nd - cost wise, is this likely to break the bank? Budget for the mods would be about $2k (after purchasing the bike)

3rd - where would be the best place to source parts like the seat, handlebars etc? Do you recommend the US, or are there some good local places in Vic/Aussie?

4th - Am i likely to need much mechanical know-how for this? Or are the changes mostly cosmetic?

Thanks all very much for any and all advice, sorry if i seem rather green on all this and if i ask stupid questions! As I mentioned i'm just catching the bug that is riding and working on bikes!

2. G'day Recon

I say you should have a go.

I've got bugger all mechanical knowledge but I started bobbing my v star today... Awesome fun!

I'm just learning as I go so probably won't be much help but there's heaps of info in these forums.

And parts can be got for any budget.
  3. All looks fairly straight forward.