Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1992 CBR250RR Major Service

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by Just4fun, May 30, 2013.

1. Hi guys. I'm new to net rider and this is my first post. :) I recently bought a 1992 Honda CBR250RR first bike and am on my Ls. It was in good running condition and I've decided to get its major service done two weeks after I bought, just so I know everything is ok with it.

I had full major service and valve clearances done by my recommended motorcycle mechanics. Got it back today and was very low on rpm when I wa leaving the mechanic it stalled a few times. Usually I could feel when it was engaging the clutch in first and it would move forward, I found that hard to get this time round and it was stalling in neutral too. :( i was only just leaving the mechanic so I took it and he adjusted the revs from the knob on left hand side. Was revving bit higher and no stalling.

What I did notice was it was getting a bit high in the temp gauge, more than before I took it in. Then I noticed the fan was running when I turned engine off I hadn't noticed this before.

I'm just wondering if this is normal after a major service? Is the fan always running as I didn't notice it before? Will it take a while for bike to " run in " after major service and valve clearances.

I'm a little concerned as it was running pretty reasonable before I took it in and now I feel like I have to get used to it all over again??? It's my first bike and am a little nervous now. What ere the warning signs that the bike my not be running as it should? My main concern is the temp at the moment....:(

Sorry for essay, as I'm said I'm new here and I've seen alot of informative answers from you guys!!