Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1000k service done, now she won't fire

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by dukenukem, Sep 9, 2014.

1. #1 dukenukem, Sep 9, 2014
    Last edited: Sep 9, 2014
    Hey all,

So took the duke 390 in for its maiden service. Remember, I'm brand new to bikes so any advice is welcome.

After her service, I hit the old rd for a leisurely ride with CrazyCam and all seemed well. Got home and popped out for dinner in town and here's where the fun begins. Bike fired up (normal) and idled fine. Cracked the throttle after warming it up a bit and it stalled (meh, it's happened before). The next 5 mins I spent trying to get it to fire up again and no luck. A couple of coughs and splatters but that's about all. Did as much of a check as I could do in the dark with next to no skills.

Bike is new and under warranty. Not sure if there was anything more I could do. Thankfully a mate could give me a ride home but my bike is still (hopefully) there.

Hopefully it's just something silly, but I've also realised my lack of mechanical skills could really do with a refresher. Any advice for newbie in a disheartening situation?
  2. Had that happen to me once... Some idiot had flicked the kill switch while I was away and I spent several panicked minutes figuring it out. Sounds silly to ask, but have you checked? :)
    • Like Like x 1
  3. When you stall a bike it will often flood, wetting the plugs and making it difficult to start, so maybe there is nothing wrong at all.

One of my bikes refuses to start cold if I so much as look at the throttle. Another I had always ran rich and used to prefer a generous amount of throttle but this would change after a service and I would have to learn what it liked all over again.