Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1/2 full or 1/2 empty?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Black Betty, Aug 4, 2005.

1. I've always felt that my car handle better on a full tank of gas - figured it was something to do with more weight in the back, etc (I'm no mechanical engineer!).
    So why is it that I feel my bike handles better with less (below 1/2) petrol in the tank? Is it to do with the weight being higher up making the bike harder to lean?

2. Interesting this. I think you've summed it up best when you say that you "feel" it handles better. There will be a slight improvement in weight distribution as petrol is burned off, but it would be hard to detect I think.

I guess the bigger the tank, the bigger that effect would be. It would also impact on power-to-weight ratio as well.

I will check next time I'm riding and see what it feels like, I've never actually considered that.

3. I just assumed my bike liked the "coffee dregs" better than a full tank. :p

4. I actually thnk you'd be better off with a completely full tank or a nearly empty one as in between this the fuel is sloshing around in the tank...does that make any sense at all??

5. Maybe that helps me lean into the corners better - the swash of the petrol :?:
    Not sure if I can handle the stress of running out of petrol going out with an empty tank, but I REALLY notice it with a full tank. The bikes over double my weight - is that what you mean by power to weight ratio thingy?

6. :wink: Sure it is.......I believe you.....it's the others you have to convince :roll:

7. Didn't know they handed out licenses to 95 year olds? :p

8. With old age comes gullibility.