Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.


Grand Prix motorcycle racing

The MotoGP World Championship is the premier class of motorcycle road racing. It is currently divided into three classes: MotoGP, Moto2 and Moto3. All three classes use four-stroke engines. In 2010, 250 cc two-strokes were replaced by the new Moto2 600 cc four-stroke class. In 2012, 125 cc two-strokes were replaced by the Moto3 250 cc four-stroke class with a weight limit of 65 kg with fuel, and the engine capacity for MotoGP increased from 800 cc to 1,000 cc.

Grand Prix motorcycles are purpose-built racing machines that are neither available for purchase by the general public nor able to be ridden legally on public roads. This contrasts with the various production-based categories of racing, such as the Superbike World Championship and the Isle of Man TT Races that feature modified versions of road-going motorcycles available to the public.

    Recent Content Tagged With motogp

  1. Mouth
  2. Mouth
  3. Mouth
    Thread by: Mouth, Nov 5, 2016, 156 replies, in forum: Racing, Motorsports, and Track Days
  4. AJV80
  5. _wheel_
  6. assalible
  7. DarkHorse
  8. MotoGoanna
  9. aquasj79
  10. AJV80
  11. cazzo
  12. GeorgeO
  13. mjt57
  14. Joe Bar
  15. Tommo617
  16. Hawkeye
  17. Hawkeye
  18. Mouth
  19. NetriderBot
  20. gusthedog
  21. jessbolden
  22. itchin
  23. Mouth
  24. chillibutton